Description
Héréraz Castle, once home to the Vallaise-Hérères family until their line ended in 1390, has a fascinating history. The original residential building was later transformed into the parish house, while stones from the ancient walls were repurposed for the construction of the church.
The castle’s formidable keep, or ‘donjon,’ with walls over six meters wide and two meters thick, was adapted into a bell tower. Seven meters above the ground, visitors can still see the original entrance, framed by a lintel and topped with a blind arch dating back to the 11th century. The castle was eventually ceded by Alessandro di Roero Guarene to allow the building of the Parish Church, blessed in 1878.
Last update
31 October 2025, 11:00